Blue Jays minor leaguers nominated for awards

MIAMI, FL - JULY 09: Vladimir Guerrero Jr.
MIAMI, FL - JULY 09: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. /

A number of Toronto Blue Jays minor league players have been nominated for an assortment of year-end awards including Bo Bichette and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. for Top Offensive Player. You can vote for the Jays contingent through until October 20th.

Nobody should be surprised that both Bo Bichette and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. were recognized for their offensive effort. Bichette became the first teenager since 1963 to win the minor league batting title. Bichette ended up with a .362/.423/.565 line that included 14 home runs between Dunedin and Lansing. Bichette was also nominated for the Breakout Prospect of the Year award as well

Vladdy Jr. formed the other half of the Blue Jays dynamic prospect duo slashing .323/.425/.485 with 13 home runs. The teenagers are in tough against Ronald Acuna, Willie Calhoun, Austin Hays, Rhys Hoskins, Scott Kingery, Ryan McMahon, Fernando Tatis Jr. and Christian Walker for the MILB Top Offensive Player honours.

More from Toronto Blue Jays News

Reliever Carlos Ramirez who did not surrender a run in 25 minor league appearances over 37.2 innings is up for the Top Relief Pitcher. The fireballer also made 12 relief appearances for the big club in the fall compiling a respectable 2.70 earned run average for the Jays. Also nominated with Ramirez is Nick Anderson, John Curtiss, Raynel Espinal, J.D. Hammer, Gabriel Moya, Colin Poche, Jhon Romero, John Schreiber and Scott Williams.

Pitcher Matt Dermody is up for Play of the Year for his between the legs web gem of a line drive off the bat of Jordan Smith. The catch may have been more out of desperation and self-preservation than skill but nonetheless, throw him a vote.

Next: Blue Jays: Christian Yelich should be an offseason priority

The Bluefield Blue Jays were also nominated for Team of the Year after compiling a 46-22 regular season record in 2017 while the Toronto Blue Jays were also nominated for Best Farm System.

You can vote for these categories or any of the 13 award categories by clicking HERE. The polls close on October 20th and the winners will be announced on October 24th through to November 02nd.