North of the Border blog, he revealed the..."/> North of the Border blog, he revealed the..."/> North of the Border blog, he revealed the..."/>

Blue Jays Minor League Awards


Over on Blue Jays beat reporter Gregor Chisholm’s North of the Border blog, he revealed the results from the Jays’ minor league awards ceremony held today (I would recommend bookmarking the page because he includes a lot of information not found on

In addition to welcoming back the R. Howard Webster Award winners that were honored last fall, various players and coaches were recognized in original categories like quality at-bats, five years of service, and major league debuts. Members of the New Hampshire Fisher Cats and Vancouver Canadians also earned their championship rings.

Here’s the full list:

Service Award Winners (years spent with the organization):

Five-Year Player Service Awards:

Kevin Ahrens
Daniel Arcila
Aleson Escalante
Alan Farina
Balbino Fuenmayor
Leo Hernandez
Justin Jackson
Mike McDade
Alex Ramirez
Jonathan Talley
John Tolisano
Marcus Walden

Staff Service Awards:

Five Years:

Dan McIntosh
Chad Mottola
Danny Solano

Ten Years: 

Voon Chong
John Schneider

Fifteen Years:

Vince Horsman
Dane Johnson

Winning Baseball Awards:

Quality At Bats Champions

Las Vegas: David Cooper
New Hampshire: Anthony Gose
Dunedin: Brad McElroy
Lansing: Marcus Knecht
Vancouver: Jon Berti
Bluefield: Andy Fermin
GCL: Eric Arce

Pitching Awards:

Las Vegas:  Brad Mills
New Hampshire:  Chad Jenkins/Joel Carreno
Dunedin: Matt Wright/Ryan Tepera
Lansing: Casey Lawrence
Vancouver:  Justin Nicolino
Bluefield: Tyler Ybarra
GCL: Colby Broussard

Baserunning Award

Doubleplay Buster Champion – Markus Brisker

Tony Fernandez Award, which is named in honour of Toronto Blue Jays Gold Glove Shortstop Tony Fernandez.  It is awarded to a player who displays a tremendous work ethic, pride in their defense, and a passion and gracefulness equal to that displayed by Tony Fernandez.

2011 winner: Adeiny Hechavarria

Staff Awards

Four Managers of the Year

Appalachian League – Dennis Holmberg
Midwest League – Mike Redmond
Florida State League – Clayton McCullough
Eastern League – Sal Fasano

Trainer of the Year:

Northwest League – Shawn McDermott

Coach of the Year – Award

Eastern League – Brian Pike
Florida State League – Armando Gutierrez

Community Service Award Winner: Anthony Gose

Bobby Mattick Award – Dennis Holmberg

Webster Award Winners (MVPs):

Dominican Summer League: Jario Labourt
Gulf Coast Blue Jays: Jorge Vega-Rosado
Bluefield Blue Jays: Chris Hawkins
Vancouver Canadians: Justin Nicolino
Lansing Lugnuts: Jacob Marisnick
Dunedin Blue Jays: A.J. Jimenez
New Hampshire Fisher Cats: Travis d’Arnaud (also won Eastern League MVP)
Las Vegas 51s: David Cooper

Individual Achievements:

Appalachian League – RBI leader – Art Charles  61
Eastern League – stolen base leader (70) Anthony Gose
FSL – saves leader (32)  Wes Etheridge  – also a Dunedin franchise record
NWL – saves leader (15) Drew Permison NWL – wins leader (7) Phillip Brua
Gulf Coast League record for home runs, 14 by Eric Arce
Florida State League – Home Run Champ – Brad Glenn (26)
PCL Batting Title –  David Cooper .364
Appalachian League Batting Title  – Kevin Pillar .347

Major League Debuts:

David Cooper
Darin Mastroianni
Joel Carreno
Luis Perez
Henderson Alvarez
Brian Jeroloman
Eric Thames
Daniel Farquhar

– JM

Like what you read and want to stay informed on all updates here at Jays Journal? Follow us on Twitter (@JaysJournal), “Like” our Facebook page, or grab our RSS feed!