5 Toronto Blue Jays All-Stars that are easily forgotten

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Apr 3, 2014; St. Petersburg, FL, USA; Toronto Blue Jays hat and glove lay in the dugout against the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Toronto Blue Jays have a relatively short history in the grand scheme of things. Founded in 1977, the team has gone through many ups and downs, and seen its share of both good and mediocre players.

The same could be said for the bevy of players that have worn the Blue Jays uniform and had the luxury to don it in the Major League Baseball All-Star Game.

While the Blue Jays have been blessed with the likes of Dave Steib, Joe Carter, Roberto Alomar, George Bell, Carlos Delgado, and Roy Halladay to name a few, they’ve also had a handful of, well, forgettable faces to represent the club in baseball’s Mid-Summer Classic. Let’s just say that the rule where every team needs a representative  does not necessarily send true “All-Stars” to the game. Every team has sent a pig or two, the Blue Jays are no different.

That all said, with this year’s annual All-Star contest slated for Tuesday night at Minnesota’s Target Field, I thought it would be a good exercise to look at the 38-year history of the Blue Jays and see which players repped Toronto over the years and which All-Stars didn’t quite live up to the title.

For those who are curious, the following represents which Blue Jays were awarded the All-Star honor, courtesy of MLB.com.

2013 Jose Bautista (OF), Brett Cecil (P), Steve Delabar (P), Edwin Encarnacion (DH)
2012 Jose Bautista (OF)
2011 Jose Bautista (OF), Ricky Romero (P)
2010 Jose Bautista (OF), John Buck (C), Vernon Wells (OF)
2009 Aaron Hill (2B), Roy Halladay (P)
2008 Roy Halladay (P)
2007 Alex Rios (OF)
2006 Troy Glaus (3B), Roy Halladay (P), B.J. Ryan (P), Alex Rios (OF), Vernon Wells (OF)
2005 Roy Halladay (P), Shea Hillenbrand (DH)
2004 Ted Lilly (P)
2003 Carlos Delgado (1B), Roy Halladay (P), Vernon Wells (OF)
2002 Roy Halladay (P)
2001 Paul Quantrill (P)
2000 Tony Batista (3B), Carlos Delgado (1B), David Wells (P)
1999 Tony Fernandez (3B), Shawn Green (OF)
1998 Roger Clemens (P)
1997 Roger Clemens (P), Pat Hentgen (P)
1996 Joe Carter (OF)
1995 Roberto Alomar (2B)
1994 Roberto Alomar (2B), Joe Carter (OF), Pat Hentgen (P), Paul Molitor (DH)
1993 Roberto Alomar (2B), Joe Carter (OF), Pat Hentgen (P), Paul Molitor (DH), John Olerud (1B), Duane Ward (P), Devon White (OF)
1992 Roberto Alomar (2B), Joe Carter (OF), Juan Guzman (P)
1991 Roberto Alomar (2B), Joe Carter (OF), Jimmy Key (P)
1990 George Bell (OF), Kelly Gruber (3B), Dave Stieb (P)
1989 Tony Fernandez (SS), Kelly Gruber (3B)
1988 Dave Stieb (P)
1987 George Bell (OF), Tony Fernandez (SS), Tom Henke (P)
1986 Jessie Barfield (OF), Tony Fernandez (SS), Lloyd Moseby (OF)
1985 Damaso Garcia (2B), Jimmy Key (P), Dave Stieb (P), Ernie Whitt (C
1984 Damaso Garcia (2B), Alfredo Griffin (SS), Dave Stieb (P)
1983 Dave Stieb (P)
1982 Jim Clancy (P)
1981 Dave Stieb (P)
1980 Dave Stieb (P)
1979 Dave Lemanczyk (P)
1978 Roy Howell (3B)
1977 Ron Fairly (OF)

That’s an impressive list of players right there, if I do say so myself. However, there are a few that stick out like sore thumbs. Let’s take a look at those one, shall we?

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus